Award Winners

The BMC Awards winners for Coaches and Athletes are decided by a vote of the BMC committee and chosen from all current BMC Membership. They are a recognition of contributionas and achievements in middle distance and BMC events.

Winners 1983 – 2017

Coach of the YearAthlete of the YearYoung Athlete of the Year
1983Harry Wilson
1984Frank Horwill
1985John Anderson
1986Peter Coe
1987Jimmy Hedley
1988Tommy Boyle
1989Gordon Surtees
1990Neville Taylor
1991David Denmark
1992Ernie Gallagher
1993Bob ParkerIan Gillespie
1994George GandyTom Buckner
1995David ArnoldNeil Caddy
1996John O’RourkeRupert Waters
1997Mike DownJo Pavey
1998Sean KyleAndy Hart
1999Alec StantonAllen & Andrew Graffin
2000Chris WooldridgeSonia O’Sullivan
2001Norman Poole
2002Mark Rowland
2003John CooperRicky Soos
2004Nic BideauSusan Scott
2005Lindsey DunnNick McCormickEmily Pidgeon
2006David FarrowRebecca LyneStephanie Twell
2007Andy HobdellJo PaveyStephanie Twell
2008George GandyLisa DobriskeyStephanie Twell
2009Trevor PainterLisa DobriskeyNiall Brooks
2010Norman PooleMo FarahCharlotte Purdue
2011Bud BaldaroMo FarahAdam Cotton
2012Craig WinrowMo FarahJessica Judd
2013Phil TownsendMo FarahJessica Judd
2014Gavin PaveyJo PaveyKyle Langford
2015Aaron ThomasShelayna Oskan ClarkeBobby Clay
2016John BiggLaura MuirGeorge Mills
2017James ThieLaura MuirJemma Reekie


Winners 2018 –

Coach of the YearAthlete of the YearYoung Athlete of the Year
2018Geoff WightmanLaura MuirJake WightmanKeely HodgkinsonMax Burgin
2019Andrew HendersonLaura MuirJake WightmanIsabelle BoffeyMax Burgin
2020Luke GunnGeorgie HartiganJake WightmanKeely Hodgkinson
Eloise Walker
Max Burgin
2021Phil KissiAlex BellElliot GilesKeely HodgkinsonKane Elliot
2022Geoff WightmanLaura MuirJake WightmanAbigail Ives Ethan Hussey

Lifetime Services to Coaching Award

2009Neville Taylor
2010Lindsay Dunn
2011Phil Banning
2012Norman Poole
2013David Sunderland
2014Gordon Surtees
2015Alex and Rosemary Stanton
2016David Lowes
2017Bud Baldaro
2018Mike Down
2019Phil O’Dell
2020Geoff James
2021Trevor Painter
2022Rod Lock

FRANK HORWILL Award For Outstanding Services To BMC

Till 2011 the Frank Horwill award for outstanding services to the BMC was the personal gift of BMC Frank Horwill. From 2012 it has been decided by the BMC chairman.

Winners Pre-2004

Pat Fitzgerald, Norman  Poole, M Fraser Moat, Barbara Lock, Mike Down, Ian Chalk, Mike Rezin, Peter Thompson, Brian McAusland.

Winners 2005 –

2005Steve Mosley, Tim Brennan
2006Tim Grose
2007David Lowes
2008Mike Harris
2009David Reader
2010John Glover
2011Rod Lock
2012Maurice Millington
2013Brendon Byrne
2014David Cocksedge
2015John Knowles
2016Phil O’Dell
2017David Iszatt
2018Hugh Barrow
2019Paul Hayes
2020Steve Green
2021Norrie Hay
2022Neville Taylor